Onboarding: Users and Roles

If your organization has multiple people with different responsibilities for marketing, you’ll want to set up Users and Roles in Mautic. This enables you to allow or restrict permissions for each person or persona.

Users

Users and Roles - Users

Setting up new users in Mautic is easy, either manually or through our API.

To set up a user manually, simply navigate to Settings –> Users and click on +New in the top right corner.

The First name and Last name fields aren’t trick fields. They’re just your user’s first and last name.

Role is assigned based on permissions you’ve granted – keep reading further down this document for more information on roles.

Position is your user’s job title. This isn’t a required field.

A Signature is only necessary if you’re using the Mailer is Owner feature in Mautic. If you are using Mailer is Owner, you can add a signature for each user and populate that signature in any emails you’re sending with the {signature} token.

Username, Email, and Password are the login credentials. If one of your users forgets his or her password, they can of course use the “Forgot password” link but you can also lend a helping hand by manually changing the password.

You can also configure the Time zone and Language for each user, to improve their experience in Mautic. If you’re on the east coast of the US and you have a team member in California, you can save them from having to account for the time difference when scheduling an email or seeing when a contact did something, etc.

Roles

Each team member likely has a different responsibility, and you may not want some team members touching certain parts of Mautic. To control those permissions, use roles.

By default, Mautic sets up new users with the Administrator role with full system access. However, you can change that when manually creating a user or select a different role when importing a user by API.

To create a new role, navigate to Settings –> Roles and click +New in the top right corner. You can also create roles via the API.

Once you’ve given your new Role a title and description in the Details tab, go to the Permissions tab. Here, you’ll see plenty of options for user permissions.

Users and Roles - Roles

Most of these permission categories have options for View, Edit, Create, Delete, and Publish. To avoid having to select every box, there’s also a Full option.